A password-protected directory or area is a folder that may be accessed only if a username and a password are typed in, so no unauthorized individuals could view its content. This function could be used for the primary folder of a certain Internet site or exclusively for a certain subfolder depending on your needs. For instance, if you are building a new site and you don't want people to see it before it is 100% ready, you have to prohibit the access to it as a whole, whereas if you want only some people to be able to access specific files, you'll be able to password-protect only a specific folder, while the remaining portion of the website can be seen by anybody. Either way, a “403 Forbidden” error page shall appear if the login details the visitor inputs are not correct. Even a direct link to a file shall not work given that any folder above it is password-protected.

Password Protected Directories in Cloud Web Hosting

With the password protection tool supplied with every cloud web hosting plan that we offer, you will be able to protect any content which you have within your account with only a few mouse clicks. Because the tool is an element of our innovative Hepsia CP, it features the same uncomplicated interface and you will not need any special skills to use it. When you visit the Password Protection section, you'll have to select one of the domains or subdomains which you have within the account and then choose if the protection should be switched on for the main folder or for a subfolder. Then type in the username and the password that you would like and you shall be set. A little padlock symbol inside the File Manager section will tell you that a particular folder is password-protected. In the same exact way you will be able to include a number of usernames and passwords for the same folder if you would like several people to have their own login credentials.